Artists of the week: We Were Promised Jetpacks

Artists of the week on Musikki – We Were Promised Jetpacks

We Were Promised Jetpacks are a Scottish indie-rock band formed by Adam Thompson (vocals, guitar), Michael Palmer (guitar), Sean Smith (bass), Stuart McGachan (keyboards) and Darren Lackie (drums). After being championed by Frightened Rabbit on MySpace and opening for their fellow Scottish mentors, the band released their debut These Four Walls in 2009, which granted them not only an extensive tour in the US, but also an impressive series of tracks on several TV series and movies. The much more dynamic and emotionally packed In the Pit of the Stomach followed in 2011, but in spite of some rave reviews the band failed to fully capitalize the impressive success and media-attention of their debut. Their third and recently released album Unravelling is, by far, We Were Promised Jetpacks best effort yet: a cohesive and diverse collection of songs that showcases not only the prowess of a band that has been for the last decade hitting hard on the road, but also the sophistication and brilliance of their songwriting.

João Pedro da Costa

João Pedro da Costa is a web studies scholar and a music fan.