Artists of the week: The New Pornographers

Artists of the week on Musikki – The New Pornographers

The New Pornographers are a Canadian indie rock supergroup currently formed by AC Newman, Dan Bejar (Destroyer), John Collins (Evaporators), keyboardist and filmmaker Blaine Thurier, guitarist Todd Fancey, drummer Kurt Dahl and vocalists Neko Case and Kathryn Calder.

As far as supergroups go, The New Pornographers are nevertheless quite unique: when they formed, their members were yet to be famous outside of the Vancouver music scene; they have released six successful and critically acclaimed records in the last 15 years, while their core members (AC Newman, Dan Bejar and Neko Case) have managed in the last decade to make a significant career in the indie rock world arena.

After releasing absolute classics of power-pop such as 2000’s Mass Romantic or 2005’s Twin Cinema, the band make their grand return with the new Brill Bruisers, their first in four years, an ambitious record that shows no sonic or melodic restraint in order to deliver one of the most shiny and colorful hookfests that we’ll be able to listen to in 2015.

João Pedro da Costa

João Pedro da Costa is a web studies scholar and a music fan.